The time we went to Buca di Beppo for a free dessert and instead ate $16 in bruschetta plus some whipped cream

So, I (AK) get a whole crap ton and a half of promotional e-mails. It all started 3 or 4 years ago when I went on a certifiable spree, adding myself to eClubs and mailing lists left and right. I did this in hopes that, come my birthday month, I’d get a bunch of free stuff. Most of the time it yields a bazillion e-mails I don’t need… but SOMETIMES…

COUPONNNNNNNNNS!

I love me some coupons. Recently I received a (seemingly occasionless? Happy June 30th to me, I guess) coupon from Buca di Beppo for a FREE/NO PURCHASE NECESSARY COLOSSAL BROWNIE SUNDAE. Being of the opinion that “no,” “purchase,” and “necessary” are some of the most beautiful words in the English language, I informed SP right away of this generous electronic gift that had been bestowed upon me, and we made our plans to not-purchase some dessert.

We were joking about how we should demand satisfaction if the sundae wasn't as big as the picture but IT WASN'T FAR OFF

We were joking about how we should demand satisfaction if the sundae wasn’t as big as the picture but IT WASN’T FAR OFF

We felt guilty about not having any cash to tip with (plus we were still kinda hungry after a smallish dinner) so we ordered some bruschetta, and holy crap did we learn that all good things come in giant martini glasses.

Photo care of TripAdvisor.com because we were too busy already eating it to take a picture

Photo care of TripAdvisor.com because we were too busy already eating it to take a picture

It turns out that entire thing is only 14 WW points, so our guilt was somewhat minimized. But then… then came the Colossal Brownie Sundae.

Actual size.

Actual size.

Weighing in at… wait for it…

64 WEIGHT WATCHERS POINTS.

So, we could safely eat about a sixth of it each. Which, in my case, turned out to be mostly whipped cream.

Those leftovers though.

All up in our freezer, now.

All up in our freezer, now.

AK

2 thoughts on “The time we went to Buca di Beppo for a free dessert and instead ate $16 in bruschetta plus some whipped cream

Leave a Reply

