I like this place a waffle lot

SP here, for a quick write-up about an amazing spot just north of the University of Minnesota: Black Coffee and Waffle Bar. I went here with a coworker before helping out with a “camp” at the U, and it blew my mind. I couldn’t think about anything else for the rest of the day.

To me, there’s a holy trio of breakfast foods: french toast, pancakes, and waffles. Personally, I believe that french toast is one of the greatest foods of all time, and the best among the three. Pancakes and waffles are locked in an eternal battle for supremacy. Sometimes pancakes win, and sometimes waffles.

Black Coffee and Waffle is aptly named because those are essentially the two items on the menu. 7am-9pm every day – coffee and waffles. They have a few bakery items, but you know what you’re getting into when you walk in the door. I can’t speak much to the coffee because I am not a connoisseur, not even much of a fan. But waffles are my domain.

Among the waffle choices are sweet and savory options. Now, if you’re like a couple of my [crazy] friends, you’re not a fan of sweet foods for breakfast, so you might opt for the ham and swiss waffle: a waffle-sized slice of ham with melted swiss over it. Hearty and tasty for the meat-eater. If you’re like me, anything that has the word “banana” becomes immediately more attractive. This time around, I opted for the Banana Nut waffle, with whipped cream, walnuts, nutmeg, and cinnamon. It tastes like a banana nut bread that just got pressed into a waffle.

I fell into a tasty ring of bananas

I fell into a tasty ring of bananas

A great waffle has an exterior crunch that is unique to wafflekind. The interior is super fluffy but slightly chewy in order to feel substantial. It’s almost like a french fry, in a way. And unlike the french fry, the Belgian waffle does have its origins in its namesake country. It’s all a great combination.

Also, I bought AK a waffle maker a couple weeks ago. Maybe she’ll make some of these at home. But in the meantime, I’ll definitely be back to Black Coffee and Waffle Bar.

SP

One thought on “I like this place a waffle lot

Leave a Reply

