[FHCx4] Spaghetti Day!

IT’S SPAGHETTI DAY, YOU GUYS.

This is AK. I love spaghetti more than I love most things and people. When I was a kid, one of my favorite meals was the spaghetti you could get to go in a bucket from some place called Giovanni’s that doesn’t exist anymore. I can’t handle Chef Boyardee anything because the sauce isn’t right. I’ve told SP that my ideal death would be by spaghetti. The quote “Everything you see I owe to spaghetti” referring to Sophia Loren’s incredible body is one that I relate to, except with opposite implications.

I might have been excited about today.

Spaghetti Day is one that the restaurant biz seems to have embraced quite a bit (as seen in your e-mail Promotions folder), and one of those restaurants is good ol’ Buca di Beppo. Since we are fans of Joe and his basement, it seemed prudent to take advantage of the 50% off spaghetti coupon they sent out especially for today.

As you might remember, Buca di Beppo has some monster portions. We went for the large because we like leftovers. Large is not an understatement.

2016-01-04 19.17.50

Just for reference, each one of those meatballs is like… my fist.

I personally am not a huge fan of meatballs, as they distract from my spaghetti experience, but SP likes them a whole bunch. It looks like a lot of sauce in the picture but I am an insatiable monster, so we ended up adding more sauce after it was all mixed in.

 

2016-01-04 19.31.58.jpg

This is after we ate all we could handle AND shared some with the friends who came with us.

Now it’s all in our fridge. For me, that is a danger, because I could definitely eat all of it in a sitting. The helpful tool here is accountability. SP has urged me to make it last for a minimum of 2 days, which I would not have done if left to my own devices. It’s alright to know yourself without being ashamed, and it’s amazing to partner with somebody who is aware of your tendencies and can help you curb them. I can still love spaghetti without resigning myself to situations wherein I’m guaranteed to feel bad. You can, too!

spaghetti

Me, unbridled. It’s way less cute IRL.

 

Thanks for reading. Did YOU celebrate Spaghetti Day? Let us know in the comments here, or via Facebook and Twitter (links to the right under “Socialthings.”

Seeya tomorrow for Whipped Cream Day!

AK

2 thoughts on “[FHCx4] Spaghetti Day!

Leave a Reply

