[FHCx70] National Blueberry Popover Day!

SP is recovering from a horrible gastroenteritis (my poor baby), but I made stuff today!

TODAY IS NATIONAL BLUEBERRY POPOVER DAY!

The recipe called for a large muffin tin with 6 muffin slots, but we don’t have one of those. Since the recipe is tailored to making 6 popovers and it would be too much work for a sub-novice baker such as myself to adjust the recipe for use in a 12-muffin tin, I just put butter into 6 of the muffin cups.

2016-03-10 10.33.39

Little bits of butter in a muffin tin

Well, wouldn’t you know it, 6 large muffin cups’ worth of batter does NOT fit into 6 smaller muffin cups. This is when I got scared.

2016-03-10 10.41.12

My muffin cup runneth over. 

The right corner cup and the left middle cup are filled with my overflow batter, and without butter. I decided to see if they’d turn out much different without the butter, because at this point I kind of figured they wouldn’t turn out anyway.

2016-03-10 10.43.04

After the blueberries, some cinnamon sugar mixture goes on top. I even put some on the overflow puddles!

2016-03-10 11.16.40

They have popped over!

Some powdered sugar and lemon juice gets sprinkled on top, and you’ve got your popover. They were eggy and sweet (while not overly so), although prior experience with more professional popovers makes me wonder if they should have risen more and had more air in the center. Either way, they were surprisingly good! Despite my failures! I kind of wonder what they’d be like with fillings other than blueberry.

Tune in tomorrow for National Eat Your Noodles Day and National Oatmeal-Nut Waffle Day!

-SPAK

3 thoughts on “[FHCx70] National Blueberry Popover Day!

Leave a Reply

